I Like Doctor Who

This is probably going to be the nerdiest post I’ll ever do, but so be it. I’m a fan of doctor who. There seem to be 2 different types of people when it comes to feelings about the show. The ones that love it and the ones who haven’t seen it. Hah. Nah but seriously. I just don’t understand people who are just roll their eyes and say it’s lame when they haven’t seen an episode, or they have but back in the 70s. The newer seasons are amazing, seriously, even if you didn’t like the old ones because Daleks were just men in moving boxes and the special effects were cheesy as shit, then watch a few episodes, or special, of the newer seasons.

Even in the whovian fanbase there’s a lot of discrimination between the sectors of the base. There are the old school whovians that grew up with the old series and think the newer series is shit, the people that tuned in from the newer series onwards and haven’t watched any of the older series, the giggly girls that like David Tennant and Matt Smith and have no other reason to watch the series anymore because they new doctor is a 60 something year old Scottish man, then there’s the true fans, the ones who watched it from the beginning and are still watching it to this day.

I keep saying older and newer series, let me explain if you don’t know anything about the doctor. Well disclaimer, the shows called doctor who but that’s not his name, he is the doctor, but it’s called doctor who as no one in the entirety of space and time knows his name, or really who he is. And the older running series stopped in the late 80s I think. They ended it with a time war and all of the timelords and Daleks being destroyed. They revived it again in 2002, after this time war happened, so for those who haven’t seen the older series, you can basically take this newer series as it’s own story entirely.

Anyway, I’m going to say something that may offend true whovians or old school whovians that may read this, bear with me…:

unnamed (1).gif

The newer series was fucking better! And I’m not saying this because Tennant is adorable, or I’m just too young to appreciate anything before 1999. I’m saying it because the character of the doctor himself is deeper, easier to relate to, easier to fall in love with. The excitement, the suspense, the visuals, it’s so much infinitely better. And I’m in no way saying I don’t appreciate where this series originated from, because I do, without it there wouldn’t be this series. But old stuff is really hard to watch, I’m just being honest. And I have watched a bit of the older series but in all honesty, it was cheesy, campy and half the time never really made a huge amount of sense.

Old school doctor who fans are the same as the gen wunners of the Pokemon fanbase.There are 5 new generations of Pokemon after the first 151, and the gen wunners are 90s kids, like me who grew up with the original and think the newer ones are stupid. They aren’t stupid, they’re pretty cool and a lot more versatile then the originals, you just don’t like them because the series evolved. It changed, and you want it to remain the same so therefore you hate it. But you’re missing out, in both regards, Pokemon and doctor who. I couldn’t go back to playing Pokemon Red on a gameboy when I have Pokemon alpha sapphire and omega ruby on my 3ds, these kids nowadays don’t even know what a gameboy is! Does this offend me? No, it doesn’t, because Pokemon is still alive, it’s still evolving, it’s still changing and it still exists!

It’s better now. Doctor who is better! Shhh, simmer down your angry thoughts old school whovians and just give the newer series a try. And the people with the preconceived ideas that doctor who is lame. Just watch it, I swear you’ll be surprised.

images (7)

Doctor Who in a nutshell: The doctor is a timelord that stole a tardis (a time and space ship) and ran away. Disclaimer: the tardis is shaped like a 1960s British police telephone box because, the tardis can camouflage to anything that’s normal is the era or galaxy the doctor is in, but it’s camouflage mechanism got permanently stuck on the police box. Timelords are the beings that are the lords of time (duh) the only ones in the universe that can control time, they look human but they have 2 hearts, they also don’t age and when they die they don’t, they regenerate into a new person. The doctor is a wanderer that seems to end up in places that need help. That’s it in a nutshell, but because it’s dealing with concepts of time travel, as well as different universes and all that, it has a fairly complicated story arc in general.

In my opinion, he is everything that the universe needs, the ultimate super hero. Doctor who has always given me a very warm, excited feeling every time I watch it, also an incredibly painful feeling when doctors regenerate into different doctors. Steven Mofatt (script writer) describes the doctor in the best way:

It’s hard to talk about the importance of an imaginary hero. But heroes ARE important: Heroes tell us something about ourselves. History tells us something we used to be, documentaries tell us who we are now; but heroes tell us who we WANT to be. And a lot of our heroes depress me.

But when they made this particular hero, they didn’t give him a gun – they gave him a screwdriver to fix things. They didn’t give him a tank or a warship or an xwing fighter – they gave him a box from which you can call for help. And they didn’t give him a super power or pointy ears or a heat ray – they gave him an extra HEART. They gave him two hearts! And that’s an extraordinary thing. There will never come a time where we don’t need a hero like the Doctor.

Every time I watch doctor who it always reminds me that I’m important, that every life has meaning. It doesn’t matter what series you like, the message has always been the same.

images (8).jpg

6 thoughts on “I Like Doctor Who

  1. lol! Time Lords don’t look human; humans look Time Lord. 😉

    As an older Who fan, I’m curious when you say you’ve seen the older stuff and don’t like it. Which Doctor(s) did you see? Because every single one of them is different. Frankly, Hartnell bores the shit out of me. Troughton played it funnier, but I feel the first series reached it’s initial peak with Pertwee. Charismatic, a thinker AND a fighter, Pertwee gave us a remarkable Doctor. I HATE the Tom Baker years – cheese upon cheese. Davison picked up the pace, and his stint includes E space. Colin Baker’s run has some interesting stories based on Gallifrey, but not a lot else. McCoy was always fun and lively; hated that the old series ended on him. The time war you speak of was not addressed until the film done in the states, with Paul McGann.

    The thing you HAVE to get over to enjoy the old series is the BBC’s style. It’s long, drawn out, and (to many American eyes) not very exciting. These are all aspects that the BBC has addressed in the new series – which I love, btw. You should also be aware of how many times the old show got cancelled, or was done by directors who hated it. More than you could imagine. Getting Doctor Who done at ALL was an accomplishment back in those days.

    The new Doctor Who has been taken up by fan boys. People who grew up with it – and a lot of comic books. They recognized plot holes and decided to upgrade. And THAT’S what’s great about Doctor Who. The new series ties in with the old. It’s not a re-boot. It’s a continuation. If you watch older episodes, you’ll get more of the jokes of the new series.

    And now that they’ve fucked with the Doctor’s regeneration process, we really have no idea how many times he can regenerate (standard for a Time Lord is 13). He’s the ultimate character for tv; the set up doesn’t just ALLOW actor changes, it DEMANDS them. While I always feel a sorrow and loss to say good-bye to a Doctor (other than Tom Baker), I also always fall in love with the new Doctor. I guess I’m just a hardcore fan.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I guess I tried to watch it literally from the beginning. First doctor, first season, it was hard. And yeah I agree I would probably miss a lot of the jokes and it is a continuation but it’s still significantly different and easy to pick up from. I’ve never heard anyone say they didn’t like tom Baker, I usually hear the opposite.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love Doctor Who also. I grew up with David Tennant first so I haven’t watched as much of the older series. But you could say Im a true whovian because I’m obsessed with it! And I’m loving peter capaldi, his acting in series nine is incredible. Are you up to date?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sort of loving peter capaldi, he’s a bit hit and miss for me. But then again, Clara turned into a pretty awful sidekick which made a lot of the episodes painful. I’m a matt Smith fan and I’m waiting to really start loving the capaldi series.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

