I’m Only Human

I am not perfect. I don’t always get it right. I don’t always know where I’m fucking up. I don’t know whether I’m right or wrong. I don’t know if I’m on the right track. I don’t know what people think. I sometimes care too much what people think which can also be wrong. I don’t know why things offend certain people and some don’t. I don’t have the ability to tailor myself to match opinions with everyone. I don’t have all the answers. I’m young. I’m naive. I’m inexperienced. I don’t have any idea what it’s like to be anyone other then myself. But you know what?

I’m still learning. I’m still trying. I’m still falling. I’m still failing. But I’m still learning. I’m not a bad person, just young. Inexperienced. Naive. Emotional. Human.

Never once on here have I ever said anything with malicious intent. Never once have I ever gone out of my way to tell people that what they feel is wrong. If I commented on your posts I did it because I care. Does that mean my comments are always correct? No. And if I did offend anyone, I’m really sorry. I didn’t do it on purpose. I didn’t mean to make you feel that way. I guess I just pick out the things I understand and can relate to and work with that. I’m no mind reader. I don’t always get it right. But I guess when things are said they can’t be unsaid so in that sense I’m not sorry for what I said because I clearly meant it at the time. I’m sorry that you took it the wrong way. I’m sorry I made you feel that way because that’s never my intention.

Everything that anyone says you never have to take on entirely. No one can properly know anyone’s story, and that’s ok. Because I believe we all came together because we needed people to understand, to empathise but most importantly to encourage. But these are just words. At the end of the day we take what we need from everything said to us, and discard the rest. We don’t discard the care behind the words. But the thing about WordPress along with any online social medium is that everyone is just going on what people have written. We haven’t met each other. We don’t know what’s really going on in each others lives, only the things we read. So we react accordingly to the words we read. There are billions of people online, and isn’t it amazing that tiny amounts of the online population can come together and show that support to one another. I don’t know what people are thinking when I write something, neither do they, but to comment at all considering the amount of people online shows how much they care to just write something.

I’m only human. And everyone on here is pretty anonymous. I don’t understand what you’ve been through in your life. I can only comprehend what you’ve written about. How can I possibly understand? I can’t it’s impossible, but that doesn’t mean I can’t admire your writing, or try to say something relevant.

At the end of the day no matter how tight a community you have online, if you haven’t met personally in the real world, everyone is still merely a random person swimming in the vast depths of the sea we call the internet. At the end of the day, we are still merely comments and posts to one another. Nothing more, nothing less.

9 thoughts on “I’m Only Human

  1. That is very true Kim. Having met you in real life, and reading your posts, I can see that you are mature, kind, and understanding beyond your years.

    Any form of social media has its pros and cons. I have found that even WordPress can be a bit damaging to my mental health. But at the end of the day, I have to realise that when I’m triggered by something someone else has written, that indicates that I have something to work on. It’s MY problem. The problem is not what was written, it’s something that’s going on for me. Does that make sense?

    We are all only human. We make mistakes. We say things without thinking of the consequences, or how someone else may interpret it, and that’s ok.

    You just keep being your awesome self. Perfectly imperfect. Just like the rest of us 😃

    Liked by 3 people

  2. What a great post!
    “There are billions of people online, and isn’t it amazing that tiny amounts of the online population can come together and show that support to one another. I don’t know what people are thinking when I write something, neither do they, but to comment at all considering the amount of people online shows how much they care to just write something.” Yes, I feel the same way about those who care enough to comment on something I write, considering the sheer volumes of material on the Internet.
    I really like the way you ended the post by bringing us back to earth. Just because we’ know’ someone online doesn’t mean that we know them offline, and it’s important for us to keep our ‘online life’ in perspective.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. ❤ You know how much I regret sparking this in you. But this morning as I read it, all I can read is the beauty in your words.

    I went out and liked your comment on my post. I know that sound incongruous. But I've calmed down, and you know what? I appreciate the fact that you took the time to comment, full stop. Most people don't.

    Thank you. For everything.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It’s all good, thank you for taking the time out to read this, I’m really happy you read this post the way it is intended. Don’t regret anything, it was said for a reason and I believe I grew from the reaction, nothing is ever meaningless, and there’s always something to be learned from everything. Don’t ever regret.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

