The History Of Gaz

Ok, it’s been 5 days since I last posted something, I told you in my About page that there may come times where I lose concentration and I just drop off the face of the earth so to speak. This was one of those times. Will this happen again? Probably, but I’m going to try and keep up again.

Anyway, I figured I’d write about Gaz because she sort of sub-consciously became my internet persona. I mean, she’s a character that already exists but now that I notice her, and everyone else would notice her also from every one of my posts if you’re reading it on my actual website, I’m starting to notice all the similarities between us. There’s also the things that I wish I were more like her in. Like how she gives absolutely no fucks, for anyone, except herself. Because I came on here not knowing what the fuck I was doing. I’ve written 50 posts now and for the life of me, I can’t believe I even had that many original thoughts in my head to have written that many long posts. I put Gaz up as my main picture because, I like video games and I didn’t think I’d care this much about the people I follow, but I do. I honestly thought I’d just post some stuff and it wouldn’t get comments and I could keep up with a I don’t care vibe so that I wouldn’t get so emotionally invested in people, which I do a lot and it hurts. But I found community instead, but to me, Gaz is still a very special cartoon character to me.


Gaz is a character from Invader Zim which is a cartoon that aired in 2002, it was met with uneasiness from a lot of parents as it is a pretty dark cartoon in comparison to a lot of things and ended up being taken off kids channels for a while. As banned cartoons normally do, it gathered a pretty big cult following from people like me who grew up with it and liked things that were banned. Anyway, Invader Zim centres around an alien named Zim and his adorable robot named Gir, who was sent to Earth to destroy it, as Zim is considered the worst invader, they obviously send him to Earth as it below alien levels of unintelligent (hahaha, makes sense). At the school that Zim decides to go to, there’s a weird kid named Dib obsessed with the paranormal and aliens, he figures out straight away that Zim is an alien so from the beginning of the series to the end, Dib spends his whole time trying to convince everyone that Zim is an alien. Gaz is Dibs little sister, she is in most episodes but only for one liners, though she does have three main episodes based around her.


It’s kind of funny to read the write ups on the Zim wikia about Gaz:

Gaz is best known for her creepy, dark, cynical and antisocial nature, along with some of her obsessions which include pizza and video games. Those who interfere with her and certain things she enjoys will enrage her and she will vow to make things very unpleasant for them.

Gaz tends to care little for most people (especially those that bother her) and generally regards human interaction as nothing more then a means to an end. Although she is usually bitter and angry most of the time, her few interests have been known to coax a more positive side out of her.

Throughout the show, it is demonstrated, but never actually said, that Gaz has amazing powers. Her powers include: the ability to fix, pilot, manipulate, and in general control anything electronic, the ability to get to any place she needs at will, the demonic ability to levitate on pure rage alone (surrounding herself in a column of purple light), to create fires at will, umbrakinesis, to generate spookiness in a tangible manner, shroud etc. Additionally, when enraged the atmosphere around Gaz immediately if briefly becomes satanic, complete with hellfire.

– Invader Zim wikia on Gaz

image

This was more like me a couple of years ago but I still relate. Anyway, I just thought I’d share why I put Gaz as the main image on my page. Here’s a montage of funny Gir moments as it’s pretty well impossible to find clips of Gaz that aren’t metal tribute songs.

10 thoughts on “The History Of Gaz

  1. lol! Invader Zim – J. Vasquez all the way! I’ve only caught a few episodes on the internet. Always wishing they’d do his Squee series on tv. Or let’s go all the way with JTHM. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

