Face the Music George Pell

It’s things like this story that make me remember all the hatred I hold for organised religion. And before you all start, no, this is not an atheist rant or anything like that. I respect anyone’s faith or what they choose to believe in. However, I do NOT respect the Vatican or its kiddy fiddling ways. I refuse to respect a hugely rich organisation that doesn’t pay tax and does whatever they want even though it shouldn’t exist in this day and age.

George Pell, a cardinal at the Vatican who takes care of finances started as a priest in Ballarat Australia back in the 1970s, he also did some priest work in Melbourne. A lot of victims came from Ballarat and are now starting to get some sort of recognition for what happened now, though the accusations have been thrown at George since the 1970s. All the victims were children at the time, mainly young boys. He chose to keep everything happening in the Church and Vatican completely hidden from media, he buried a lot of evidence.

There will be a hearing in Australia but as for Cardinal George Pell, he will be speaking via live recording from the Vatican due to him being ‘ill’. That meant that none of the victims get to properly look him in the eye, because honestly, probably the only thing that will happen to Pell would be a kick out of the Vatican and no jail time.

Because of the fact that Tim Minchin is awesome, he wrote a song to raise money to fly the victims over to the Vatican for them all to be the audience for Georges trial. What an awesome cause to write a song for. He made over $200,000 in the first 2 days of it being released. I will post the song and lyrics on this post, Tim Minchin is my favourite comedian.

This isn’t a I hate religion post. This is a I hate paedophilia post. This is a I hate child abuse post. An I hate rape post. This isn’t even about whether he’s catholic or not. This is about the fact that he’s a criminal and should be bought to justice. Religion doesn’t equal a good person the same way atheist doesn’t equal an immoral person. This isn’t about how religion sucks, it’s about how justice needs to happen no matter how high up you are.

In the words of Tim Minchin from The Pope Song: Fuck the motherfucker, and fuck you motherfucker if you think that motherfucker is sacred. If you cover for another motherfucker who’s a kiddie fucker, then you are no better than the motherfucking rapist. And if you don’t like the swearing this motherfucker forced on me, and reckon it shows moral or intellectual paucity. Then fuck you motherfucker this is the language one employs, when one is pissed at motherfuckers fucking little boys…

Come Home (Cardinal Pell) by Tim Minchin

It’s a lovely day in Ballarat

I’m kicking back, thinking of you

I hear that you’ve been poorly

I am sorry that you’re feeling blue

 

I know what it’s like when you feel a little shitty

You just want to curl up and have an itty-bitty doona day

But a lot of people here miss ya, Georgie

They really think you oughta just get on a plane

(Just get on a plane)

We all just want you to…

 

Come home, Cardinal Pell

I know you’re not feeling well

And being crook ain’t much fun

Even so, we think you should come

 

Home, Cardinal Pell

Come down from your citadel

It’s just the right thing to do

We have a right to know what you knew

 

Couldn’t you see what was under your nose, Georgie

Back in ’73 when you were living with Gerry?

Is it true that you knew but chose to ignore

Or did you actively try to keep it buried?

 

And years later, when survivors, despite their shame and their fear

Stood up to tell their stories, you spent year after year

Working hard to protect the church’s assets

I mean, with all due respect, dude, I think you’re scum!

And I reckon you should…

 

Come home, Cardinal Pell

(Cardinal Pell)

I know you’re not feeling well

Perhaps you need some sun

It’s lovely here, you should come

 

Home, you pompous buffoon

(Pompous buffoon)

And I suggest do it soon

I hear the tolling of the bell

And it has a Pellian knell

[bridge]

I want to be transparent here, George, I’m not the greatest fan of your religion

And I personally believe that those who cover up abuse should go to prison

But your ethical hypocrisy, your intellectual vacuity, and your arrogance don’t bother me as much

As the fact that you have turned out to be such a goddamn coward

 

You’re a coward, Georgie

(You’re a coward, Georgie)

Come and face the Music, Georgie

(Face the Music, George)

You owe it to the victims, Georgie

(You owe it, George)

Come and face the Music, the music

Hallelujah, hallelujah

If the Lord God omnipotent reigneth

He would take one look at you and say

(One look at you and say)

 

Go home, Cardinal Pell

I’ve got a nice spot in hell

With your name on it and so

I suggest you toughen up and go

 

Home, Cardinal Pell

I’m sure they’ll make you fell wel-

Come at the pub in Ballarat

They just want a beer and chat

 

Come home, Cardinal Pell

(Cardinal Pell)

I know you’re scared, Georgie-poo

(Come Home)

They have a right to know what you knew

 

Your time is running out to atone, Georgie

I think the Lord is calling ya home, Georgie

Perhaps he could forgive even you

If you could just let them know what you knew

 

Oh, Cardinal Pell

My lawyer just rang me to tell

Me this song

Could get me in legal trouble

 

Oh well, Cardinal Pell

If you don’t feel compelled

To come home by

A sense of moral duty

Perhaps you will come home and frickin’ sue me

❤ Tim Minchin

Leave a Reply

