The Year For Pokemon!

It’s been a while since I posted something nerdy so sorry to all my none nerdy readers who are going to have a hard time understanding this post. Though I do believe you should play Pokemon so that you can join in with what I’m talking about. :p

images (15)

So I ended up getting a Mew from our local game shop. Mew has been the 151 numbered Pokemon that you can’t catch in the game at all, only through special event. So since the first generation back in 1995 I have always needed a Mew to complete the Pokedex, I finally have one, it’s only been 20 years…

images (23)

There are two main exciting things happening for Pokemon this year. Firstly is the launch of Pokemon Go, fuck yeah I’m excited about this. The aim is that you have the app on your phone/ipad, whatever device you can use outside that has internet, looking through your phone it will project images of Pokemon into your surroundings, so if you’re looking at a tree through your phone, it may look like there’s a Pokemon sitting on that tree. So Pokemon Go is the literal equivalent of all the gameboy games, the aim is to go out and explore your surroundings whilst catching pokemon. Depending on the type of Pokemon is dependant on where you’ll find them. Water Pokemon are obviously going to be found in pools/ponds/rivers/beaches etc, bug Pokemon will probably be found in forest areas, you get the picture. Also, Pokemon are going to be allocated in certain countries, meaning that some Pokemon may only be in America or Japan etc meaning you will need to do a lot of trading online to get the Pokemon you need to complete the Pokedex, or just go to the countries and start catching pokemon (haha yeah, that’s the reason to visit overseas, gotta catch all the Pokemon). You can also battle people, I mean, it wouldn’t be a true Pokemon game without the ability to battle other people (it’s like the whole point of Pokemon), I’m interested to see how that’s going to work. In the original gameboy games if you walked past a trainer who was looking right at you then technically you locked eyes and you have to battle. Is the app going to recognise everyone else with the app and tell you to battle them? Or do you just go online in your own time and battle people on the internet? Don’t know but can’t wait to see what they do with it.

images (22)

I don’t give a shit what anyone says the Pokemon amie mini game they added was one of the best ideas ever, who the fuck wouldn’t want to pat and feed a Charizard cupcakes?! Just look at that Pikachu, it’s too adorable! I don’t understand the smiling thing but the sorting berries and bouncing yarn little games are the best, kept me amused for hours. Same with the advanced training mini games. Best ideas ever, makes everything heaps easier.

images (14)

So at the end of the year they are releasing Pokemon Sun and Moon. Apparently this isn’t a remake of gen 2 but a completely new generation entirely, gen 7. Fuck. Me. I only just learnt gen 6 and gen 5 and 4 for that matter is still shaky thank you very much. Is 720 not enough, do we need to push for the 1000s? Apparently we do as there’s already an Anime in the works for it. Oh and there’s also a Pokemon fighting game coming out for the Wii U, or it may of just been released, not sure, but it’s called Pokken, sort of like Tekken but fighting Pokemon.

Anyway, all this Pokemon stuff happening has inspired me to play ORAS again (Pokemon omega ruby/alpha sapphire) but not only that, was considering getting into competitive battling. Last time I thought I was good enough to do this just because I was good at breeding movesets, I failed miserably, probably because I’ve spent my whole life playing alone and not with other people. I didn’t know anything about Iv breeding or Ev training. But the greatest thing about the new games is that you always have the ability to play with someone now, thanks to the internet. Back in the day if you wanted to battle someone you had to stand opposite them with a cord linking your gameboy. For people like me without friends, it was impossible to evolve some Pokemon because it involved trading it with someone else or things like that. Back in the day I needed 2 gameboy, nowadays I don’t really need the second one thanks to things like online trading and Pokebank.

I’m going to leave down the team I’m currently training up. I warned you this would be a nerdy post, but hopefully I’ll tag this post correctly so that I can have some knowledgeable people comment. Please let me know where my weaknesses are, suggestions are welcomed and appreciated.

Gallade – Psychic/Fighting, Moves: psychic, brick break, shadow ball, psycho cut

Swampert – Water/Ground, Moves: surf, waterfall, dig, earthquake

Scizor – Bug/Steel, Moves: iron head, x scissor, flash cannon, venoshock

Togekiss – Flying/Fairy, Moves: fly, dazzling gleam, aerial ace, flamethrower

Cacturne – Grass/Dark, Moves: energy ball, needle arm, feint attack, dark pulse

Aurorus – Ice/Rock, Moves: ice beam, thunderbolt, rock slide, aurora beam

 

4 thoughts on “The Year For Pokemon!

  1. I still remember the day some kid showed up to school with a game-shark and started catching people Mews. I waited in line for an entire recess for it!

    Thanks to the rare candy duplication glitch, I got that baby to 100 in no time! Maybe one day we’ll do battle in Pokemon Go! šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

