The Psychopath On Bourke Street

I don’t usually like to post on the news, I don’t like to post on tragic new. I don’t like watching it, reading it or hearing it.

But I can’t not post about what happened in the Melbourne CBD yesterday, because Melbourne is my city, I love the CBD, it’s always been my favourite place in the world. I grew up going to the CBD, I worked my first real job in the heart of the CBD on Collins Street, I’ve regularly walked the streets throughout my life including Bourke St and through the Bourke Street Mall.

Nothing like this has happened in my time. I didn’t think anything bad would ever go down in Melbourne.

Yesterday a crazy fucking psycho mowed down people on Bourke Street Mall, killing 3 people on the scene and injuring 20, another person has also died in hospital bringing the death count to 4. Among the first 3 victims one was a 10 year child.

I have family in the city, a lot of people got taken to hospital just because of witnessing it. I’ve seen a video now removed of the carnage on the street, it was disgusting.

This man has a family history of violence and was also wanted for the stabbing of his brother.

This is the thing, I know this happens a lot in America, but it’s really different when it’s a country that doesn’t allow guns. To kill with a gun is no where near the same kind of personal aggression level as stabbing a person. Then when you hear it’s not a terrorist threat, it’s not politically motivated, it’s just because this guy is a fucking psychopath.

There’s no reason for it. That’s scary.

Too kill with something like a car which is just going to maim, and you just plow down people with nowhere to go with no remorse, it’s fucked.

This affected me. I’m still only an hour away from Melbourne, it’s my city, always will be.

I’m so sorry to the families and people that got affected by this. This was a terrible, scary thing that happened that no one should of had to go through.

I hope we can feel safe in the CBD again soon.

New.com Story

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Psychopath On Bourke Street

Leave a Reply

