I <3 Aussie Punk Music

I’ve been feeling brave enough to listen to music lately, even enjoying it again and riding the waves of the heavy emotion it brings me because of the amount of memories attached to it.

So it may seem slightly ranty but it’s only because I remember 14 year old me got triggered a lot by music.

Mainly because I had an obsession with trying to be the exact opposite of what my parents wanted me to be at that age.

So my favourite band was Sex Pistols, I listened to mainly 70s and 80s punk music, sewed patches on a jacket of my favourite punk bands and everything. I was especially poud of the giant Sex Pistols back patch on that jacket. And considering my brother was the person who was actually doing the same thing but in the right time period, I wonder where the love of that genre came from?

(Oh and by the way, I made that jacket when I was 14 and I still fit into it now because I haven’t really grown in height on anything. Lol.)

I was an angry kid back then, about everything man.

One could say, I was a Prisoner Of Society… 

And USA I gotta say, you guys fucking killed punk music with your pop punk bullshit like Blink 182 and Greenday.

Congratulations, not only did bands like that kill punk, it dug it back up then spat on it, then proceeded to take a shit all over the decomposing corpse of punk.

There is only one other genre that sits side by side to punk and that is Rock, dammit! Not Pop, like what the fuck dude, pop is the exact opposition to punk! Punks hated the popular shit, they cancel each other out, this is just music common sense right?!

Right?!

I mean, fuck, I could even except it as just a different genre like Hardcore Pop or something, just don’t disrespect a genre that meant so much, to me in paticular, by slapping pop next to it. 

Punks hate mainstream!

Sigh…

And this is like my 14 year old tantrum anger flaring up, it’s probably highly irrational and I honestly haven’t kept up with the music scene at all. I fully admit that this anger comes from a place of somewhat ignorance as I have a limited knowledge of bands.

So I’m kind of like, sorry but not sorry US for what I said, because it’s just these bands in particular that just really fucking grind on me, and I hate the fact that your country produced them and brought this awful fucking pop/punk bullshit to the mainstream.

But the good thing about US producing such trash music at the time was, it started making me appreciate my own countrys music.

Because I loved the 90s and 2000s punk rock music, bands like The Spazzys, The Distillers, Frenzal Rhomb, Spiderbait, TISM, Yidcore and The Living End.

See how many bands I can list off the top of my head that stayed completely true to the very nature of punk and where just talented people in general. And not only that, I’m sure that if I asked my nephew right now who does keep up with the heavier music side would give me a whole list of decent punk bands who are fairly recent.

But I think out of all of those bands, the first ones I heard were Spiderbait, TISM and The Living End, only a couple of tracks, on a mix cd.

But the song Prisoner Of Society by The Living End truly was my teenage anthem.

livingendlive

And I wanted to introduce anyone who hasn’t already heard of this band, because not only is it one of my favourite bands, it also incorporates a freakin’ Double Bass instead of just a regular bass, I mean, that’s pretty cool, I dig it.

It also helped contribute to my passion for art, and justice, and all that type of shit, and that’s something that means a lot to me.

So I’ll leave you with these 4 songs, as I believe they are kind of relevant in this day and age still, as well as them being so meaningful to me.

Prisoner of Society – 1998 – Second Solution/Prisoner of Society EP

Who’s Gonna Save Us? – 2003 – Modern Artillery

Wake Up – 2006 – State of Emergency

Roll On – 2005 – Roll On

Leave a Reply

